Dragonfruit

The last of my dragonfruit that I bought last week is finally getting finished up. I’ve had a long standing curiosity with this fruit because of its unusual appearance and hot pink color, that I figured I’d go for it when I spotted a crate of them in Argyle. Isn’t it purty? If you view my flickr stream, you probably have seen these pics before but I just love how the colors pop! There are even some varieties where the flesh is hot pink too.

Dragonfruit

As far as the flavor goes, it reminded me of a less intense kiwi since it wasn’t nearly as sweet or tart but had the same texture. However, since it was my first time tasting it, I can’t be sure that it was entirely ripe. If anyone can shed some light on how it should taste, please enlighten me! In the meantime I’ll have to try these out again soon.

Dragonfruit

