Palmiers

…or elephant ears!

Think puff pastry expanding sideways rather than up. I usually buy these at Chinese bakeries but on Friday I took home a whole tray that was made earlier in the day, along with ladyfingers, chocolate eclairs and a large napoleon. I’ve been trying hard to document this whole experience with pics because really, when am I ever going to be doing this again, but Friday’s bounty was a little overwhelming so we’ll just go with palmiers to show for the day. Now that I’ve made them, I think I’ll try to make them from scratch the next time a craving is calling. They’re not too difficult and I’m really liking the flavor of the ones above versus the ones I usually buy.

On a different note, another great summer weekend come and gone…sigh…can’t get enough of these sunny days. Also can’t believe it’s August already! Noooo!

