French Macaroons

I’m not sure how I stumbled upon the Laduree French Macaroon but I do remember thinking “How cute are these cookies and where can I find them in Chicago???”. I have a penchant for all things small and colorful whether they’re edible or not, but finding that these cookies are made of ground almonds, sugar, and egg whites and are difficult to make upped the curiosity factor.

After some searching I found myself at Vanille Patisserie on Clybourn. The cases in here house such gorgeous little cakes and sweet things but I came here on a mission for macaroons. Pictured above are, top to bottom: salted caramel, chocolate, pistachio, raspberry, coffee, and oreo. While they are mighty tasty (oooh too hard to pick a favorite), with a lightly crisp outer shell and moist insides, they are also mighty tiny and pricier than I was expecting for such a tiny cookie. Definitely give these a try but save ’em for a time when a refined treat is in order. :)

