Officially Graduated!

The kid sis graduated this weekend from Depauw (that’s her and Erik up there :D). Still can’t believe the four years passed by so quickly! Overall the day was pleasant. The ceremony was held outdoors and the sun was out making the campus look perky and ready for the big festivities. Everyone was happy and excited and caught up in the moment and once I heard the music I got all giddy inside remembering the day it was me taking the same walk at U of I seven(!) years ago.

My graduation was pretty emotional for me. Not in sad sort of way – it was just an odd mix of feelings that came together in a short amount of time that it was hard to process at that moment. You’re happy you made it to the end of the four year race, proud of what you’ve accomplished, excited about the future, relieved it’s all over, and sad you have to say goodbye to the little life you had for the four years. The change was unnerving and exhilarating all at once and I felt remnants of that watching her walk down the aisle.

I must say being there was a nice distraction for me. For once I wasn’t thinking about what changes may be coming to me soon. I tend to think about it too much and absolutely freak myself out. But taking the past two days off helped take the edge off. :) In many ways, I feel like a completely different person when I’m away from the job and I’m trying to remember that and my Sunday blues when I lose the nerve to go through with everything. T-minus 3 weeks and counting…

