IMG_1376

A few weeks ago, in my ongoing quest to check out Chicago’s many bake shops, I visited Sweet Collective. I’m a dessert kinda gal so this place was right up my alley. Why? Because Sweet Collective houses 3 independent pastry shops! Ice cream, chocolates and cakes under one roof! Woot! However they do not have many seats. You can probably seat 4 people here semi-comfortably (no kidding – this is more of a carry-out type of place). In any case when I did visit, the cakes were in scant supply and I wasn’t feeling the chocolate so instead I picked up a small container of Sour Cream Cinnamon ice cream. Mmmm it was so good! Tasted just like Cinnabon Frosting in ice cream form.

So with Chicago’s short stint of hot weather last week, I decided I wanted to make some ice cream at home. Chosen recipe – Roasted Banana Ice Cream taken from David Lebovitz’s “The Perfect Scoop”. Now normally I will only eat bananas straight up – no flavored candy, drinks, popsicles for me! They always taste so artificial and too floral. But once I saw this recipe I was tempted to give bananas another try. Here ya go!

Ingredients:
3 ripe bananas, peeled
7 Tbsp Light Brown Sugar
1 tbsp butter, cut up
1 & 1/2 cups whole milk
2 tbsp granulated sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 pinch salt
juice from quarter of a lime

Preheat the oven to 400F. In a baking dish cut up the bananas in 1/2 inch pieces and toss with the brown sugar and butter. Bake for about 40 mins, turning once during cooking. (This step will make you a believer. The sugar and bananas get all bubbly and gooey and it smells great in the kitchen). Once the bananas are cooked through cool it down for a bit and then blend the banana/sugar mixture with the milk, granulated sugar, vanilla, salt and lime juice in a food processor. Chill the mixture in the refrigerator for a few hours and then pop it in your favorite ice cream maker.

When I made it, I cut down on the sugar by a Tbsp and used some cream in place of the milk. Also pay attention to the bananas! Mine were done much sooner and were starting to burn! Unfortunately I was making caramelized peanuts at the same time and they were close to burning too at the same dang moment. So I had to stop the peanuts early and they turned out a little paler than I wanted (hence no pictures – will try again later :)). In any case, this was really yummy and was so easy to make. I will definitely be making this again this summer.

