Lemon Pound Cake
Truth be told, I actually made a couple of things this past Sunday. First I’ll mention what wasn’t to be (because after what happened I’m not going to remake them anytime soon :p) – chocolate banana empanadas. In theory, it sounded pretty appetizing and I was super excited to try something new. But everything went wrong. 1) I made the dough too dry so when folding it over the filling the fold cracked open, 2) the filling itself was too liquidy and oozed all over the place and 3) the darn things wouldn’t seal closed. But I pushed on, and got a batch of decent ones. I placed them all on a plate in the fridge to cool before baking only to have the plate and all the empanadas fall to the floor and shatter when I went to open the door of the fridge. There went 2 hours of work down the drain when I could have been out and about on a beautiful Sunday Chicago afternoon. Not happy!

But there was a bright spot – my glazed lemon pound cake, a old favorite from my culinary school days. It’s not particularly fancy or difficult, but it’s something that consistently makes everyone in the house happy. The cake isn’t overly sweet and has a just enough lemon flavor, all coming from lemon zest added to the batter. The glaze has lemon juice with a moderate tart kick that is a nice contrast to the denser cake. And it sure is pretty when the glaze gets brushed on in all it’s drippy glory. Soooo at the end of it all, thanks to my faithful pound cake, the day wasn’t a complete loss. What’s your go-to recipe? (P.S. I can’t give out the recipe since its from my school’s book but there are PLENTY of recipes on the internets. ;) )

Lemon Pound Cake

