In the past few weeks, I have eaten out much more than I would like to admit. Not that it wasn’t enjoyable at the time, but really, this little habit is taking its toll on both my wallet and my body. For example, in just the past 2 days I have had a Double Whopper and Great Steak Sandwich (both combos) and a LOT of Chinese takeout. And I won’t get into how much BBQ Sauce I have had to eat for all the projects going on at work. But lest you think I’ve gone off the deep end, it’s more of a case of ‘my-kitchen-is-under-construction-and-is-thus-unusable-itis’. When all this started I made an effort to try to eat as clean as possible but lately I’ve been reaching for whatever is close and quick. Enter the Double Whopper and Great Steak Sandwich.

But for today I needed a change. And change came in the form of pulling out the cutting board, knives, and produce and making pinakbet, a filipino dish, and insalata caprese (requests from the fam) in a makeshift set-up with very little counterspace and a broken up floor beneath my feet. Not quite ideal but I made it work. ;) I think the results were worth it. We all got to eat a real meal (yay for vegetables!), and I got to make something other than BBQ Sauce for the first time in what seems like forever. I am content. And I have leftovers tomorrow to look forward to.

IMG_4777

IMG_4778

IMG_4773

IMG_4788

IMG_4785

