Summer Salad (w/ my fave dressing of the moment)
After spending a number of years coming up with dressings for restaurants, I had found that my own personal salad dressing preferences had changed and now leaned toward more simple and clean flavors. Case in point, I’ve always been a vinaigrette type of gal when it came to my salads, but after fiddling around with endless vinaigrette flavor combinations at work with different types of vinegars, oils, herbs or emulsions, I found that my salads at home now got a really simple treatment of only four ingredients: a light pour of either red wine vinegar or balsamic vinegar, oil, and a dash of salt and pepper. And that’s it. Sounds bare, but I felt that I could actually taste the vegetables now instead of masking them with my usual store-bought concoctions.

Now with summer rolling around again, I thought let’s change it up with this season’s home salads. I so loved the dressing used at another work establishment and decided to try to make it at home. It’s super easy, using only four ingredients again: whole grain mustard (I must insist on whole grain), honey, red wine vinegar, and a smidgen of oil. When it comes to savory food I tend to eyeball my proportions so apologies for the in-exactness of the amounts. Feel free to change things up to your suit your tastes. For the above serving I used about

2-3 Tbsp whole grain mustard
2-3 tsp honey
1 dash each of red wine vinegar and oil

Mix well to combine, toss in some crunchy lettuce (I used romaine in this case) and you’re good to go. You get a nice balance of tang and light sweetness along with added texture and mini flavor explosions from the mustard seeds with the bonus of just a little fat added. And the thick-ish consistency coats the lettuce well and gets in all those lettuce crevices. Fast, simple and tasty.

Lunch

